Texas 21

Devoted to discussion about the 21st Congressional District of Texas. Currently occupied by Congressman Lamar Smith (R).

Wednesday, January 04, 2006

Found: More Republican Congressional Candidates

I knew it was too good to be true.

Via the Harris County GOP site, we now know:

CD 7- Incumbent John Culberson is defending his Congressional seat after all. Democratic candidate Jim Henley has his uphill battle. Hopefully his well-honed debate skills and experience as a pastor will serve him and the Fightin' Democrats of Texas well.

Update 1/5/06 12:10 p.m.: Many thanks to Kuff, who pointed out my omission of another Democratic challenger to Culberson, David Murff. My apologies to the Murff campaign, and if you're in CD 7, join them at their kickoff dinner Jan 11.

Best of luck to both candidates, and I look forward to a primary with two very well-qualified candidates..

CD 18 - Democratic incumbent Sheila Jackson Lee will have a Republican challenger, Ahmad Hassan-whose website is still under construction.

CD 29 - Democratic incumbent Gene Green also has another opponent. Eric Story has filed for CD 29's seat. His website also is clearly a work in progess-but hang on to that photo editor...

Bexar County may have a similar list, but I'll be darned if I can find it. Even their elections page is-bet you can guess- under construction.

So, it still looks like Congressmen Al Green, Charles A. Gonzalez, and Lloyd Doggett are likely to be going back for more fun and games in the halls of Congress.

Hopefully, with a stronger Democratic Congressional Caucus alongside them.


Post a Comment

<< Home